Goa and Union Territories issue open access regulations for 2018-19

The Joint Electricity Regulatory Commission (JERC) for the state of Goa and union territories of Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Lakshadweep, Dadra & Nagar Haveli, Daman & Diu, Puducherry, and Chandigarh has issued regulations for intra-state transmission and distribution open access for the 2018-19. JERC has stated that open access will be allowed to all consumers for which the maximum power to be made available at any time exceeds a threshold level of 1 MVA.

As per the JERC regulations, any consumer or a generating station with a load or generation capacity of 4 MW and above, respectively, is eligible to obtain Intra-State Transmission System (ISTS) connectivity for open access of power. Moreover, a generating station having an installed capacity less than 4 MW may obtain ISTS connectivity if the open access is found to be technically feasible by the State Transmission Utility (STU).

In addition, generating stations including captive power projects, having installed capacity less than 4 MW, will be eligible to obtain connectivity to the distribution system. In such cases, the discom will be eligible for ISTS connectivity or connection to another discoms’ network. The regulations also state that the STU will decide on grant of connectivity within a period of 60 days from the date of receipt of application. The regulations have been in force since March 14, 2018.