Changes at the Top

Key moves in the past year

Post the onset of the Covid-19 pandemic in 2020, there has surprisingly been significant churn in the private sector, with senior business leaders moving to different professional avenues. Key changes have been witnessed at the top government level too in the power sector. Renewable Watch tracks the key recent movements in the sector, including in the gas and petroleum industry, given the focus on green hydrogen…

Public sector

Alok Kumar, Secretary, Ministry of Power

Post serving as principal secretary (pow­er), Uttar Pradesh government, and chairman of UP Power Transmission Corpo­ra­tion Limited, Alok Kumar assumed char­ge as secretary, Ministry of Power, in February 2021. He succeeded Sanjeev Nandan Sahai.

Suman Sharma, Managing Director, SECI

In August 2021, Suman Sharma was ap­pointed managing director (MD) of the Solar Energy Corporation of India (SECI). A 1990 batch officer of the Indian Revenue Ser­vice, Sharma succeeded Jatindra Nath Swain, who was serving as chairman and managing director (CMD) of SECI.

Arun Kumar Mishra, CEO, EESL

In October 2021, Arun Kumar Mishra was appointed chief executive officer (CEO) on deputation at Energy Efficiency Services Limited (EESL). This followed the resignation of EESL’s executive vice-chairperson Saurabh Kumar. Mishra has extensive experience in the pow­er sector, having worked with NTPC and the Power Grid Corporation of India in the past. He has also served as director of the National Smart Grid Mission.

Arun Kumar Singh, Chairman, IGL

In January 2021, Arun Kumar Singh, director (marketing) with additional charge as director (refineries) and director (finance) at Bharat Petroleum Corporation Limited (BPCL), assumed ad­ditional responsibility as chairman of Indra­prastha Gas Limited (IGL). He replaced P.K. Gupta, director (human resources), GAIL India, who had completed a two-year term at IGL. In Sep­tember 2021, Singh was also appointed CMD of BPCL.

Rajiv Ranjan Jha, Director (Projects), PFC

In October 2021, Rajiv Ranjan Jha was appointed director (projects) at the Power Finance Corporation, with the responsibility of developing strategies to venture into new businesses and oversee ongoing projects. He was promoted from his previous post as executive director (projects).


Private sector

Srivatsan Iyer, Global CEO, Hero Future Energies

Srivatsan Iyer was appointed global CEO of Hero Future Energies, replacing Sunil Jain, in January 2021. Iyer earlier worked as vice-president of strategy, planning, in­no­vation and technology at Braskem.


Amit Jain, Global CEO, Sterling and Wilson Solar

In June 2021, Amit Jain was appointed global CEO of Sterling and Wilson Solar, a Shapoorji Pallonji group company. Jain previously served as the company’s country head for the US and Australia. He succeeded Bikesh Ogra, who will now serve on the board of the company as a director.


Vivek Srivastava, CEO, WAAREE Energies Limited

Effective August 30, 2021, Vivek Srivastava took over as CEO of WAAREE Energies Li­mited. He was previously senior vice-pre­si­dent at Reliance BP Mobility Limited.


Suman Mishra, CEO, MEML

Suman Mishra, senior vice-president, business transformation, insight and analytics, automotive sector, was appointed CEO of Mahindra Electric Mobility Limited and chi­ef executive designate of the last mile mo­bility business in August 2021. She replaced Mahesh Babu, who was serving as CEO and MD of MEML.


Venkatesh R., MD and Director, Energy Business, Wärtsilä India

In April 2021, Wärtsilä India appointed Ven­katesh R. as MD and director, energy business, India. His previous role with Wärtsilä was as area director for Middle east Asia, based in Singapore. Venkatesh replaced Neeraj Sharma, who served as president and MD.


Himanshu Mody, CFO, Suzlon Energy

Himanshu Mody was appointed chief fin­ancial officer of Suzlon Energy with effect from August 1, 2021, replacing Swa­pnil Jain. Mody earlier worked as gro­up ex­e­cu­tive director with Bennett Cole­man & Co Limited and with the Essel Group.


Enter your email address